[Masthead] Fair ~ 46°F  
High: 69°F ~ Low: 36°F
Saturday, Oct. 22, 2016

Cherokee County City Elections Tuesday

Monday, November 4, 2013

There are races in three of eight Cherokee County communities for Tuesday's City Elections, including Cherokee, Marcus, and Aurelia.

The others, including Meriden, Larrabee, and Washta, have full ballots that will be filled out by incumbents or new candidates seeking election.

Exceptions are in Quimby and Cleghorn, with two candidates seeking three At-Large Council posts in Quimby, and one incumbent seeking two Council At-Large seats in Cleghorn, so those Council vacancies must be filled by a write-in vote and acceptance by the write-in winners.

In Cherokee, incumbent Mayor Mark Murphy is running unopposed and candidate William Miller is seeking the Ward 2 City Council vacancy left when incumbent Dan Morrow did not seek re-election. At-Large Council incumbent Mick Mallory is being challenged by candidate Emily Johnson.

In Marcus, incumbent Mayor Darrell Downs is being challenged by candidate Thomas Willems, and three candidates are seeking the two At-Large Council vacancies, including Bruce Dreckman, and incumbents Conrad Ebert, and Harold Klassen. Not on the ballot for Marcus Mayor is a write-in campaign by Gary Husman, who entered the race late and has been going door-to-door seeking supporters.

In Aurelia, candidates Justin Schulenberg and Gene Suhr are seeking the vacant Mayor's position, and six candidates are seeking the three At-Large Council seats, including Dan Baker, Sue Johnson, Nate Overturf, Roman Redig, Blake Trapp, and Dennis Wieland. Jim Tell was the former Aurlia Mayor.

In Cleghorn, incumbent At-Large Council member Todd Wetherell is unopposed. There is no Mayoral election this year as Mayor Mick Wetherell's term doesn't expire until 2015.

In Larrabee, incumbent Mayor Dan James is unopposed, and three incumbents are seeking the three At-Large Council seats, including Earl Cresap, Nick Ludwig, and Dustin Richardson.

In Meriden, incumbent Mayor DJ Sechler is unopposed, and incumbent Allen Campbell, and candidates Lonnie Benson, and Roger Korleski are seeking the three At-Large Council posts.

In Quimby, incumbent Mayor Betty Woltman is unopposed, and incumbent Tracy Stevenson and candidate Don Fiser are seeking two of the three At-Large Council seats. A write-in vote and acceptance will determine who fills that remaining Council vacancy.

In Washta, incumbent Mayor Don Parrott is unopposed, and incumbent Don Eades, and candidates Michael Hanson, and Lawrence Patterson are seeking the three At-Large Council positions.

There are no Public Measures on the ballots.

To vote in a City Election, an eligible elector must be a resident of that City, a U.S. citizen, 18 years of age, not currently judged by a court to be "incompetent to vote," and not convicted of a felony. All residents in the State of Iowa must vote in the precinct in which they reside on Election Day.

Precinct locations and times for Cherokee County city residents are:

* City of Aurelia - 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. at Aurelia Community Center, 235 Main St., Aurelia

* City of Cleghorn - Noon - 8 p.m. at Cleghorn Community Center, 102 W Grace St., Cleghorn

* City of Cherokee - Noon - 8 p.m. at Cherokee Community Center, 530 W Bluff St., Cherokee

* City of Larrabee - Noon - 8 p.m. at Larrabee Community Center, 101 N Main St., Larrabee

* City of Marcus - Noon - 8 p.m. at Marcus Community Center, 319 N. Main St., Marcus

* City of Meriden - Noon - 8 p.m. at Meriden Community Center, 204 Eagle St., Meriden

* City of Quimby - Noon - 8 p.m. at Quimby Community Center, Main St., Quimby

* City of Washta - Noon - 8 p.m. at Washta Community Center, 305 Main St., Washta

Call the Cherokee County Auditor's office for more voting information 712-225-6704.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: