8th Graders named to Honor Bands

Monday, October 26, 2015
CMS 8th Graders Eleanor Chalstrom, Emma Jensen and Natalie Peterson have been selected to be in a regional middle school honor band. Photo by Ken Ross

Three Cherokee Middle School band students, all eighth graders, have been selected to participate in the 47th annual Northwest Iowa Junior High/Middle School Honor Bands Festival.

On Saturday Oct. 17, over 300 seventh and eighth grade band students from 43 Northwest Iowa schools auditioned for a position in two honor bands.

Approximately 190 students were chosen. These selected students will perform a concert at Schaller Chapel on the Buena Vista University Campus, Saturday, Nov. 7.

Selected from CMS were: Eleanor Chalstrom, Oboe; Natalie Peterson, Tenor Sax; and Emma Jensen, Alto Sax. Their band director is Casey Kingdon.

Guest conductors for the honor band festival will be Dr. Paul Bloomquist, Director of Bands at Iowa Central Community College, Fort Dodge and Mr. Josh Calkin, Wayne State College, Wayne, Nebraska.

A special honor goes to Eleanor Chalstrom, who was selected as the top chair of her section and will represent Northwest Iowa at the All-Iowa 8th Grade Honor Band, to be held in Des Moines on May 12, 2016.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: