Cherokee County 4-H Awards Day

Monday, December 4, 2017

The annual Cherokee County 4-H Awards Day was held at the Cherokee Community Center on Sunday, November 12th 2017, and more than 200 4-H’ers, leaders, volunteers and 4-H Donors were recognized for their efforts from the past 4-H year.

New Council Members Installed - The new members of the Cherokee County 4-H Council went through an installation ceremony.

4-H’ers received recognition for holding club offices, being a first year 4-Her, applying for project awards, and for completing a record keeping system.

Several things happened during the Awards Banquet. The new County Council was installed. The County Council is made up youth in grades 9-12 who plan activities for all county 4-H’ers.The youth serving on the County Council this year will be Emily Schlenger, Nikki Ruba , Cole Timmerman, Brooklynn Schlenger, Kaitlyn Goth, Josh Frederick, Trey Claycamp, Christa Lux, Malorie Vandelune, Tyler Whited, Maggie Vandelune, Brady Meyer, Jaden Ducommun, Caitlyn Ebert, Brendon Sullivan, Becca Cowan, Emily Morse, Dustin Kohn, Bailey Engelke, Sydney Woltman, Mahaley Dirks, Katlyne Pitts, Kristina Goth, Leah Henderson, Emma VandeLune, Kendra Husman, and Victoria Kollbaum

Award Winners - Pictured here are 4H’ ers who received special awards at the recent Awards Night : Jaden Ducommon, Bailey Engelke, Dustin Kohn, Kaitlyn Goth, Tyler Whited, Emily Morse, Sydney Woltman Emily Schelenger.  

“ I really enjoy working the council. They all have some wonderful ideas and so much enthusiasm, I think you will be seeing and hearing a lot more from the Cherokee County 4-H County Council,” said Debbie Erpelding, County Youth Coordinator.

Honorary 4-H’er Jennifer Morse (left) received the “Honorary 4-H’er” Award. She is shown here with her daughter, 4-H'er Emily.

Some of the most important awards given at the Ceremony were the “Special Awards”. In order for a 4-H’er to be considered for one of these “Special Awards”, they must have first completed a record book or filled out an award application. They must also be at least a sophomore in high school, had three or more years of 4-H club work, demonstrated leadership beyond the local club level, and met the guidelines of the specific award.

Alumni of the Year - Aaron Woltman received the “Alumni of the Year” Award at this year’s 4-H Awards Day.

Here is a list of the “Special Awards” and their winners : Mary Dunn Memorial Award- Kristian Stowater;

4-H Leader of the Year - Mark Wilkie received the “4-H Leader of the Year” Award at this year’s Awards Night.

Citizenship – Emily Morse and Jaden Ducommun; “I Dare You” Leadership Award– Sydney Woltman and Emily Schlenger; Agriculture Award – Tyler Whited and Wyatt Rassel; Leadership Award- Josie Kindwall and Bailey Engelke; Achievement Award- Kaitlyn Goth and Dustin Kohn; Family Living-Mahalay Dirks and Christa Lux

Cherokee County 4-H appreciates the important contributions that 4-H leaders make to the lives of our young people through their leadership in 4-H activities, and the following were honored for their continued service :Jen Kaskey, five years of service; Ginell , five years of service, and Britt Carlson, 10 years of service.

Hall of Fame - Earl Cresap received the honor of becoming a 4-H Hall of Fame member at the recent 4-H Awards Night.

ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H couldn’t survive without the dedication, expertise and leadership provided by adult volunteers.  Each year the 4-H program in Cherokee County recognizes adult 4-H volunteers to honor them for their services to 4-H, community leadership and public service in Cherokee County. This year’s honorees included: Business of the Year: New Coop; 4-H Alumni: Aaron Woltman; Honorary 4-H’er: Jennifer Morse; 4-H Leader of the Year: Mark Wilkie; 2016 4-H Hall of Fame: Earl Cresap

ISU Extension and Outreach 4-H program couldn’t survive without the dedication, expertise and leadership provided by adult volunteers and wonderful 4-H Families. As you can see it was a busy evening. Those receiving the awards listed above are well deserving. Congratulations!

Cherokee County Awards Day is held every year to close out the 4-H year. For more information about recognition or 4-H programs,you may contact the Iowa State Extension and Outreach Office-Cherokee at 712-225-6196.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: