Cherokee Citizen of Year nominations being accepted

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Nominations are being accepted for the 28th Annual Citizen of the Year Award for Cherokee, which is presented by the Mayor of Cherokee to recognize an “individual who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the entire community of Cherokee, outside their chosen trade or profession”.

The Mayor's Committee, consisting of representatives from the following groups, selects Cherokee's Citizen of the Year: City or County government, industry, school, ministerial and other service organizations, medical, and business.

Nomination forms are available at City Hall and local banks, or you may submit a letter to City Hall, 416 West Main Street, Cherokee, IA 51012, or you can FAX to 712-225-2803 or email it to Please list the volunteer participation of your nominee in detail if possible.

Deadline for nominations is 4:30 p.m., Friday, December 22nd. The award will be presented at the CAEDC Annual Recognition Banquet in February.

Past recipients of the award are Don Agostine, E.T. Parker, Joan Ballantyne, Jim Bleakly, Wayne & Marlys Woolridge, Joe Lundsgaard, Dave Sayre, Tom & Jean Miller, DuWayne Rupp, R.J. & Doris Thomas, Wilma Starkey, Jim Adamson, LeRoy “Herb” Ford, Mark Minger, Sherry Held, John Cook, Jr., Wayne Morris, Bev Anderson Ziemen, Lee & Pearl Jenness, Phyllis Parrott, Jeff Blum, Orville & Lila Saxby, Magey DeVega, Stan Sitzmann, George Wittgraf and Ruth Hayes.

Outgoing Mayor Mark Murphy and Mayor-elect Craig Schmidt thank Cherokee citizens for the support they have shown this program.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: