Dreckman leads Sioux Valley qualifiers

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Cherokee Golf Classic this weekend

Qualifying rounds are well underway for the 84th annual Sioux Valley Amateur Men’s Match-Play Golf Tournament teeing off Saturday and Sunday, June 16-17 at the venerable Cherokee Golf Course.

After early-bird qualifying last week, the 18-hole qualifying rounds are Saturday, June 9 through Friday, June 15. The popular Calcutta Auction and meal for Iowa’s oldest match-play tournament is Friday, June 15.

Nick Dreckman of Le Mars leads the qualifying with a 70, followed by 71s by former Sioux Valley champs Matt Pitts and James DeVos of Cherokee, and Charles Horton of Storm Lake.

In with 72s are former champ and last year’s runner-up Bill Mathers of Cushing, Ryan Feauto of Carroll, and Collin Mitchell of Sioux City. Dave Greenwood of Omaha carded a 74, Tyler Danke of Sioux City a 75, and Doug Boever of Remsen 76. Zach Mathers of Sioux Falls, Austin Sweeney of Sutherland, Kyle Mallory of Holstein, and Kurt Claybaugh of Cherokee delivered 77. Jeff Cobatto of Marcus and Jim Rodgers of Cherokee had 78.

The $75 entry fee includes 18 -hole practice round, and 18-hole qualifying.

The format remains unchanged with 16 golfers to a flight, with Championship and First Flight playing 18-hole matches, and flights 2-7 nine-hole matches.

A new twist this year is the fact that all golfers not qualifying for the Sioux Valley will automatically qualify for the Consolation Tournament match play to be played at the Aurelia Golf Course those same days.

There is a $250 Medalist Award for the low qualifying score.

The 2017 defending Champion is Corey Mathey of Sergeant Bluff. Brett Taylor of Booneville was the 2016 Champ and also won the coveted title in 2015 and 2011. James DeZVos of Cherokee won in 2014, and J.D. Anderson won in 2013, 2009, and 2007. Matt Pitts of Cherokee was 2012 Champion, Bill Mathers of Cushing the 2010 Champ, Jeff Campbell of Niles, Ohio the 2008 winner, and Todd Sapp of Sioux City the 2005-2006 Champion.

The winner gains a leg on the Wayne Johnson Memorial Trophy.

For more information, contact the Cherokee Golf Course at 225-4687; or Tournament Directors Jason Spooner at 261-5878, of Bill Spindler at 221-9328. Check Cherokee Golf Club Facebook Page for Tournament Flight times on June 15 after 6:30 p.m.

Golfers are reminded to reserve carts early by calling the Club at 225-4687.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: