‘Citizen of Year’ nominations

Friday, November 19, 2021

Nominations are being accepted for the 32nd Annual Citizen of the Year Award, which is presented by the Mayor of Cherokee to recognize an “individual who has made a significant contribution to the betterment of the entire community of Cherokee, outside their chosen trade or profession.”

The Mayor’s Committee consisting of representatives from the following groups selects Cherokee’s Citizen of the Year: City or County government, industry, school, ministerial, service organizations, medical, and business.

Past recipients of the award are Don Agostine, E.T. Parker, Joan Ballantyne, Jim Bleakly, Wayne & Marlys Woolridge, E. Joe Lundsgaard, Dave Sayre, Tom & Jean Miller, DuWayne Rupp, R.J. & Doris Thomas, Wilma Starkey, Jim Adamson, LeRoy “Herb” Ford, Mark Minger, Sherry Held, John Cook, Jr., Wayne Morris, Bev Anderson Ziemen, Lee & Pearl Jenness, Phyllis Parrott, Jeff Blum, Orville & Lila Saxby, Magey DeVega, Stan Sitzmann, George Wittgraf, Ruth Hayes, Henry “Hank” Hayes, Joe Draper, Richard “Dick” Point, and Jason Cook.

Nomination forms are available at City Hall, online at www.cherokeeiowa.net, or you may submit a letter to City Hall, 416 West Main Street, Cherokee, IA 51012, or email it to cityckech@evertek.net. Please list the volunteer participation of your nominee in detail if possible.

Deadline for nominations is 4:30 p.m., Friday, December 10th, 2021. The award will be presented at the CAEDC Annual Recognition Banquet on February 3rd, 2022. Mayor Craig Schmidt thanks Cherokee citizens for the support you have shown this program.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: