Women’s Sioux Valley Golf makes history

Monday, June 7, 2021

Hold on to your pants fellas, the skirts are coming.

Following the 87th Sioux Valley Amateur Men's Match Play Golf Tournament here on June 19 and 20, the women take center stage announcing the First Annual Women's Sioux Valley Match Play Golf Tournament coming July 10 and 11th.

The women's tourney is new and the brainchild of several area women golfers who agreed it was well over do to establish a women's match play tourney to rival the 87-year old men's tournament at the Cherokee Golf Course.

The proper pink posters promoting the First Annual Women's Sioux Valley Golf Tournament, will be showing up in business windows soon. Qualifying begins Saturday, July 3 and continues through Friday, July 9. There will be a Calcutta Auction and dinner on Friday, July 9.

The women's tourney will feature 16 golfers in a flight and entry fee is $50, to include qualifying round, the match play tourney and an extra nine holes of golf for two people.

SVAMPGT (even the tourney abbreviation is too long) officials are encouraging women to help support the first annual tournament by participating and enjoying the beautiful Cherokee Golf Course.

Also, the long standing men's tournament is just around the corner with early bird qualifying scheduled to begin Saturday, June 5 and run through Friday, June 11. Other 18-hole qualifying rounds can begin Saturday, June 12 and run through Friday, June 18.

The last qualifying tee off time for 18 holes is 1p.m. on June 18 and for nine hole, 3p.m., that same day.

Local golfers are encouraged to take advantage of the early-bird qualifying times in order to accommodate players traveling a long distance.

The men's tourney will feature 16 golfers to a flight with the Championship and First Flight playing 18-hole matches, while Flights 2-7 will play nine-hole matches.

J.D. Anderson of Des Moines, a five-time winner of the tourney, is expected to return again this year. Anderson won the tournament last year along with titles in 2018, 2013, 2009 and 2007.

Other top returnees expected to play this year include 2019 champion Nick Dreckman of LeMars, 2017 champ Corey Matthey of Sergeant Bluff and three-time tourney champion Bret Taylor of Booneville. Taylor claimed titles in 2016, 2015 and 2011.

Also back to challenge the leader board will be James DeVos, the 2014 winner and head coach of the Cherokee Braves, along with former Brave and Morningside stud Matt Pitts, a 2012 Sioux Valley champion.

Other previous champions Bill Mathers of Cushing (2010), Jeff Campbell of Niles, Ohio (2008) and Todd Sapp of Sioux City (2006 & 2005) are expected to return.

In past years, over 200 golfers have shot qualifying rounds for the tourney, which is dubbed the "oldest match play tourney in Iowa."

For more information or to reserve golf carts for the event, please call the Cherokee Golf Course at 712-225-4687 or tourney directors Jason "Spoonman" Spooner (712-261-5878) or Billy "Blue Devil" Spindler (712-221-9328).

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: